College of Electrical, Information and Resources Engineering

Contact Info

Tel: 886-2-8212-2000#2841
English Site | Chinese Site

The College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) was established in August 1, 2007. The educational objective of EECS is to get united with domestic electronic and computer technology industries, jointly promote the collaboration between industry and university, and help forward the upgrade of these industries. The college of EECS consists of three departments/institutes, namely, the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), the Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering (CSIE) department, and the Institute of Computer and Communication Engineering (CCE).

The EE department was established in August 1, 2001. Before its formation, it was formerly called Electronic Engineering Section which was set up in August 1, 2000. The CSIE department was also established in August 1, 2001, while the Institute of CCE was formed in August 1, 2007. The college of EECS has 27 full-time faculties, including 4 Full Professors, 6 Associate Professors, 10 Assistant Professors, and 7 Lecturers. There are totally 781 students enrolled in EECS, including 756 undergraduate students and 25 graduate students.

The growth and development of the college of EECS follows one of the university’s overall objectives, namely, “Create A Superior Teaching and Research Environment to Cultivate and Mold Talents in Science and Technology”. On the teaching aspect, we intend to match up with the national goals in the electronic and information technology (IT) high-tech development needs as well as in the technical vocational education system. Therefore, we set up our teaching goal to educate and train the students to become skillful in electronic and IT with emphasis in both technology and ethic. Our curriculum plan also emphasizes in both theory and practice with special attention at practicality, hands-on practices, and laboratory experiments. We have set up the following six areas for the teaching, research, industry-school collaboration, and continuing education programs:
1. Wireless Communications, Radio Frequency (RF) / High Frequency (HF) and Electromagnetic Wave
2. Digital Signal Processing and Systems
3. Embedded Systems and Applications
4. Computer Network Technology
5. Multimedia and Network Communication Technology and Applications
6. Intelligent Life Technology and Applications.

The teaching and research development focus areas of the Institute of CCE are in “RF Communication Technology”, “Signal Processing and Systems” and “Information Technology”; the EE department focuses on “Communications and Electromagnetic Wave” and “Signal Processing and Systems” curriculums as their two key development areas; while the CSIE department has two major curriculum focuses, namely, “Embedded Systems Technology and Applications” and “Computer Network Technology and Applications”.

Based on the foundation established during the past few years, the college of EECS has strengthened its development with the following characteristics:
1. Research Characteristic: Focus areas include Antenna, Electromagnetic Interference, HF Radio Frequency, Video/Voice Processing, Biomedical Signals, Intelligent Systems, Network Technology and Embedded Systems. The research direction focuses on Design and Applications.
2. Teaching Characteristic: Focus areas include Wireless Communications, HF Radio Frequency, Computer Network Technology and Applications, and Embedded Systems Technology and Applications. The curriculums emphasizes on their practicality.
3. Collaboration and Co-Operate Programs between Industry and University Characteristic: RF and Communications Measurements, Electromagnetic Interference Measurements and Countermeasures, High-Speed HF Electromagnetic Effect Analysis, Various Management Systems Design, Embedded System Applications, etc. The special characteristics are on actively “Conducting Professional Technical Conferences” and “Promoting Continuing Education”.

Related Departments: